Upcoming Events

Retromobile Wednesday 2nd February 2022 to Sunday 6th February 2022

The I.C.E International Concours of Elegance - St Moritz Saturday 26th February 2022

Amelia Island Concours d'Elegance Thursday 3rd March 2022 to Sunday 6th March 2022

Motor Racing Legends Annual Awards Dinner Wednesday 9th March 2022

Techno Classica Essen Wednesday 23rd March 2022 to Sunday 27th March 2022

Peter Auto Mugello Friday 1st April 2022 to Sunday 3rd April 2022

79th Goodwood Members' Meeting Saturday 9th April 2022 to Sunday 10th April 2022

British GT Championship Saturday 16th April 2022 to Monday 18th April 2022 - Oulton Park

Salon Prive London Thursday 21st April 2022 to Saturday 23rd April 2022

Tour Auto Optic 2000 Monday 25th April 2022 to Sunday 1st May 2022

View our events calendar

Ferrari: Under the Skin

In a year filled with celebrations for Ferrari's 70th, one could easily be fooled into thinking the latest exhibition the Design Museum; Ferrari: Under the skin, would be just like any other. It does however, stand apart. From the moment you enter the cavernous quadruple height atrium in Kensington, the Fisons Daytona Competizione takes centre stage.

The exhibition starts off with a fascinating look into Enzo's personal items; everything from watches to Enzo's driving licence. A selection of rarely seen period photographs and original engineering drawings and line the walls too.

It serves up a much greater level of insight into Ferrari's heritage. Each of the 6 or so rooms offers up an incredible selection of cars, bucks and everything in between. A full size half-painted clay model of the recently released J50; a special with a run of just 10 cars celebrating 50 years of Ferrari in Japan sits in the first room. The J50 is flanked by a 250 LM shell suspended in the air, a wire-framed 250GTO below and surrounded by 1:8 scale wind tunnel models and full size engines.

Especially of interest on the front of the car are some lesser seen oddities. There are a couple of Gianni Agnelli's personal cars, the only real Testarossa Spyder and his two-tone, blue and green 166MM.

Sitting with these two is the first 250 PF cabriolet prototype. A very special car sporting an almost-black, dark green livery and featuring several distinct design changes to the later cars, most noticeably its dropped driver's side door and the windscreen supported only by pillars either side (0655GT). It sits opposite a debuting 275 4 cam fresh out of restoration by DK Engineering.

Towards the end of the exhibition, the cars step up again. A 250SWB sits behind a 250 GT Sperimentale, ahead of both, a green 250GTO. Continuing on the race theme, helmets from every era and a Schumacher race suit sit proudly opposite the cars. The exit scene is taken care of with a white Laferrari Aperta.

The DK™ Logo and DK Engineering™ are registered trade marks of D.K. Engineering (Holdings) Limited
© Copyright 2022 - All Rights Reserved